15 August 2018

The Lord’s Taverners ACT is pleased to provide the following information about this year’s Annual General Meeting.

The Annual General Meeting of the Lord’s Taverners Australia (ACT Branch) will be held at Royal Canberra Golf Club, 71 Bentham Street, Yarralumla, ACT, 2600 on Thursday, 6 September 2018 commencing at 6pm.

The Returning Officer is the Secretary, Chris Hunter. Members who wish to join the committee of the Lord’s Taverners ACT are invited to complete a nomination form and submit it to Chris by close of business on Wednesday, 29 August 2018. To download a nomination form, please click here.

In accordance with the Lord’s Taverners Australia (ACT Branch) constitution, there will be one resolution debated at the meeting. It relates to Section 3.14 of the constitution, which states: “Subject to earlier retirement or removal, office bearing Committee members (with the exception of the Twelfth Man) may be elected to serve in the office to which they were elected for a maximum of four (4) years in any one office, unless extended for a period of time agreed by a resolution at the AGM.”

In the event that our current President, Ric Smith, is re-elected at the AGM, a resolution (under Section 3.14) will be put to the AGM which would enable Ric to continue as President for 2018/19 (his fifth year in this office).

Members would recall that for a number of years, the AGM has been held in conjunction with our Annual Dinner in August or September. With our next Prime Minister’s XI Match Dinner coming up soon (on 30 October 2018), this year’s AGM will be a stand-alone event.

We would encourage members to make time to attend the AGM. Drinks will be available at the bar at Royal Canberra Golf Club and snacks will be provided.