24 September 2019

Another year of local community support provided by the Lord’s Taverners ACT was acknowledged at the 2019 Lord’s Taverners ACT Annual General Meeting.

The AGM, which was held at Royal Canberra Golf Club on 3 September and was attended by around 30 members, heard how more than $30,000 was disbursed by the Lord’s Taverners during the past 12 months and that the number of members of the branch has continued to grow.

Another noteworthy part of the Annual Report delivered by President, Ric Smith was recalling the success of the branch’s biggest ever event.

On this, Ric’s report stated: “The highlight of our year was the breakfast hosted at the Hotel Realm on the first day of the first Test match played in Canberra.

“With Phil Lynch as MC, a superb panel comprising Belinda Clarke, Kumar Sangakkara and Michael Hussey entertained some 320 guests.

“The event, our largest ever in the ACT, raised some $11,150 and did much for our profile.”

On the community support provided by the Lord’s Taverners ACT in the past year, Ric’s report stated: “We were pleased this year to be able to disburse $31,420 to deserving causes which support our aim of giving the young and disadvantaged a sporting chance.

“This included $10,000 for the National Cricket Inclusion Championships, which provides for all-ability, deaf and blind cricket.

“We presented ‘Spirit of Cricket’ awards to winners in Cricket ACT’s competitions and Junior Taverners Awards to the value of $1,500 each, plus a Kookaburra cricket kit to two promising young cricketers from the region – wicket-keeper/batter Tilly Lugg and spin bowler Tom Engelbrecht. We were delighted, also, to see that an earlier winner of one of these awards, Jason Behrendorff, played for Australia in the ODI World Cup.

“Our support of Sunrise Rotary’s Dream Cricket was a rewarding contribution to enabling kids with disabilities to play cricket and will be repeated this year.

“For the 12th successive year, the Lord’s Taverners ACT Scholarships scheme provided support to the value of $10,000 to 20 young athletes.

“We also continued to provide support to Pegasus to assist riding for children with disabilities.”

To download a complete copy of Ric’s report, please click here.

Motions were carried at the meeting for the following:

  • That Ric Smith’s tenure as President be extended by one year;
  • That Kit Morgan’s tenure as Vice President be extended by one year;
  • That Noel Smith’s tenure as Treasurer be extended by one year; and
  • That Hamish Arthur’s tenure on the committee be extended by one year.

With regard to positions on the Lord’s Taverners ACT Committee, 12 nominations were received, meaning all 12 people who nominated were elected to the committee: Hamish Arthur, Nanette Bak, Deb Clayton-Baker, Michael Crane, Keith Hardy, Chris Hunter, Kit Morgan, David Nicholls, Murray Radcliffe, Noel Smith, Ric Smith and Asoka Wijeratne.

The Lord’s Taverners ACT would like to express its appreciation to outgoing committee members Abul Rizvi, Michael Mead and Rob Laurie. As a past President and long-serving committee member, Rob, in particular, has made an enormous contribution to the organisation.

All office-bearers were elected unopposed: President – Ric Smith, Vice President – Kit Morgan, Treasurer – Noel Smith, Secretary – Chris Hunter.

The AGM was rounded out with an outstanding presentation from the Chief Executive Officer of Cricket ACT, Mr James Allsopp, about the upcoming summer of cricket.